Archive for September 27, 2009

Early to Bed

I’m pretty sure I’m going to go to bed before 9 tonight.  I am that tired.

As a result, I haven’t been super-efficient today, but I’ve still been getting some work done.  A little more work for my internship tonight, then I think I’ll call it today.

The two parts of my dinner don’t really go together, but I couldn’t decide what I wanted…

IMG_3157A sharp cheddar + apple quesadilla.  Sounds like it would be a weird combination, but it is seriously great!  And if you make it on a Foreman grill, it takes about 2 minutes to make!

IMG_3161Quinoa + beans + veggies. I only slightly modified a recipe that I can’t link to here (from a cookbook, not online), so I unfortunately can’t post how I made it.  BUT, it is red because I tried my very first beet in this dish!

I like beets.  I think.  I don’t think I’d eat them alone or anything, but in a dish like this, its pretty good.  Very…earthy.  That’s the only word I can think of right now to describe it.

All together:

IMG_3162Before bed, I might have some cider from the orchard we visited this week.  I just had to buy some at the Farmer’s Market yesterday after our field trip!

September 27, 2009 at 6:46 pm 1 comment

Another Busy Sunday

Rather than being a rest day, Sundays seem to have become my busiest days this month!  Today isn’t nearly as crazy as last weekend, though…

My sleep schedule was all off last night, so I’m a little sleepy.  I rolled out of bed at 3:50 am to take Dan to the airport, and I fell back into bed around 4:45 for a few more hours of sleep.  I decided that I valued the extra one hour of sleep over baking for the SWE trip to the zoo, so I brought some Fiber One granola bars to our potluck instead.

I knew that the food at our potluck would be mostly unhealthy, so I made sure to have a filling breakfast before I left:

  • IMG_31481/3 c. oats
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/3 c. skim milk
  • 1 T. almond butter
  • 1 T. pumpkin butter
  • Toasted granola on top

Plus this yummy pear I picked up at the Farmer’s Market yesterday:

IMG_3149

It was a lot of fun to just hang out and walk around the zoo and chat.  This is the same zoo I ran my 5K for last weekend.  While there, I had some fruit, some couscous, a little piece of cake, and some bread and dip.

IMG_3152We got a little silly at the zoo.  Sally played zookeeper, Krystal was a lion, and I was the monkey. 😉

I came home for a kiwi

IMG_3153For the first time ever, I ate the kiwi with the skin still on.  I’ve seen lots of food bloggers doing this, so I thought I’d give it a try.

It was only okay.  The slight bitterness to the skin detracted from the sweetness of the kiwi.  I think it will be a good option when I want to take a kiwi on the go, but I’ll go to the effort to take off the peel before I eat one at home!

Okay, off to do some homework and cleaning before tonight’s soccer game!

Before I go, check out the pretty flowers Dan got me when we were at Trader Joe’s last night:

IMG_3142I love having fresh flowers in the apartment!

Which day of the week is your busiest?

September 27, 2009 at 1:52 pm



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.