Archive for September 30, 2009

Eight Months…

Eight months from today, I’m getting married! 🙂 Yay!

Workout #2

I had my second of five Pilates Reformer Training classes.  Once I complete all 5, I can take any of the Reformer classes at my studio.  I can already tell I’m going to be sore tomorrow; the Reformer seems much harder than Mat work!!

Eats

Yesterday, we found this in the mailbox:

IMG_3176My Kashi cereal sample arrived!

IMG_3177By the time I got home from Pilates & the running store, I was starving and wanted a quick, light meal.  So I went with “breakfast for dinner” and had my Kashi sample with skim milk.  I’m still hungry though, so I’ll be having something else to eat before bed!

It was pretty good; I think I would like the original flavor better than the Honey Flax.  There was nothing inherently wrong with the Honey Flax cereal, but I typically don’t like honey-flavored cereal.  I’ll be buying the original Go Lean Crunch, though; the nutritional stats are impressive!

Priorities.

Kelly posted today about priorities, which got me thinking.  I have a lot on my plate.  To name a few things I have going on in my life (in no particular order):

  • Finishing my degree.
  • Wedding planning.
  • Half-marathon training.
  • Finding a full-time job.
  • Being involved in Society of Women Engineers.
  • Helping teach the freshman engineering course.
  • Interning for MixMyGranola.
  • Spending time with Dan.
  • Spending time with friends.
  • Calling my mom regularly.
  • Meal planning & cooking.
  • Blogging.

Looking at that long list, I don’t know how I’m doing it all, honestly!  If I’m not careful, I could fall behind in some or many of these.  To see where all my time is going and what areas I’m not spending enough time on, I’m going to record where all my time goes for a week.  Next week, I’ll make a list of changes to keep myself healthy and sane as I juggle all of this…stay tuned!

Eat.Sweat.Blog.

The Eat.Sweat.Blog challenge starts tomorrow!  I have at least one reader interested.  Who else is with me?

Giveaway!

You can win some Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter and other yummy pumpkin treats here. Check it out!

September 30, 2009 at 9:22 pm 5 comments

Note: Big Fitness Weekend Ahead!

I’m so so excited for this weekend!  Read on to find out why.  But first, a quick recap of my eats so far for today:

Breakfast Quinoa with Almond Butter, Chopped Apple, Cacao Nibs and less than a teaspoon of maple syrup.  I realized partway into class that I didn’t have a picture, and it would be awkward to take one in the middle of such a small lecture. 🙂

Lunch:

Between classes, I did a training ride on my bike since I didn’t get to it last night.  My stats:

10.0 miles, 43:33 minutes.

After that, I was starving!

IMG_3178A kiwi. I didn’t eat the skin this time, but scooped out the flesh with a spoon instead.  I like it so much better this way!

IMG_3179An apple and cheddar quesadilla on a whole wheat tortilla. Yum!

Later, I plan on munching on these veggies and hummus:

IMG_3181IMG_3182

Am I Insane?!

You already know that Dan and I are doing the Tyranena Oktoberfest Bike Ride to benefit Tomorrow’s Hope, which “supports organizations that help anyone who is touched by a life-limiting disease. This includes Alzheimers, cancer, diabetes, heart connditions, kidney or liver disease, Niemann-Pick disease and more.” (from Tomorrow’s Hope website).  We will be biking 46 miles on Saturday.

As if that wasn’t enough of a workout for the weekend, I also decided to sign up for a 5K today that is on Sunday morning.  This one benefits the Literacy Network, “a not-for-profit organization committed to providing basic literacy services to adults and families in Dane County so they may achieve their employment, education and family goals.”

Doing two big races in one weekend may seem crazy, but I’m so excited for it! I never thought I’d be able to run a 5K OR bike 46 miles, and now I’m doing both within 24 hours of each other.  I get giddy and happy whenever I think about how far I’ve come since May in my fitness, and I want to prove to myself that I can do this.  So on that note, wish me luck! 🙂

September 30, 2009 at 11:51 am 1 comment



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.