Archive for September 5, 2009

Go Badgers!

So I’m clearly very new at this food-blog thing, because I didn’t take pics of a few things I ate today… my friends don’t know about this blog yet, so I wasn’t ready to whip out my camera.  I’ll get there though, promise!

Tailgating was fun.  On game days, the entire street outside the stadium is shut down to traffic for tailgating, and it is just one huge sea of red and white.  Since I’m not eating meat this month, I just had a small handful of M&Ms at the tailgate.

We don’t have football tickets, so we went to Kelley and Jenny’s apartment to watch the game on the Big 10 Network.  While there, I had one piece of frozen pizza and the dinner I had packed myself:

IMG_2817Chobani, berries (yes, those are the strawberries from the Farmer’s Market, and yes, they are fantastic!), and one of the last granola bars from the huge batch I made a few weeks back.  I didn’t think I’d like Greek yogurt, but I think its growing on me…

After the game, I planned out our meals for the week so I don’t forget any ingredients at the grocery store tomorrow.  I snacked on some leftovers from last night’s dinner out:

IMG_2819Hummus, baba ganoush, baby carrots, and blue corn chips.  I finished with a small piece of Maya Gold Green & Black chocolate– I love the spicyness to balance out the sweet!

Off to bed, because we have a busy day planned for tomorrow:  berry picking (I’m hoping to freeze them for winter because fruit availability in WI isn’t that great in the winter), then Taste of Madison!

Question:  Any advice for a new food-blogger like me?  🙂

September 5, 2009 at 11:53 pm

Welcome to My Blog!

Today started off amazing-ly…

BreakfastTwo slices of whole-grain bread, toasted and topped with Dark Chocolate Raspberry Peanut Butter from P.B. Loco.  I’m so sad they’ve gotten rid of most of their retail locations–their PB is amazing!

Kelley, Jenny and I jogged to the Farmer’s Market this morning.  I’m still a new runner and therefore very slow.  At the beginning of the summer, I was running at a 15:00 pace, and typically run a 12:00-mile now.  Today, though, I think I was subconsciously trying to keep up with Jenny because she was always just a few paces ahead of me.  In doing so, we managed to run the 2 miles in just under 22 minutes!  I’m definitely getting there… 🙂

It feels so good to be back in Madison getting produce in Capital Square!  There were some fantastic cherry tomato and pepper dip samples, too…

Naturally, I had decided that it would be too annoying to run with my water bottle, so I didn’t bring it with me.  I was ridiculously thirsty the entire time we were there, so we stopped at Starbucks on the walk back for a pumpkin spice soy latte.  While I waited for my coffee, I downed a huge glass of water.

IMG_2791

I can’t believe I never knew how much better these are with soy milk instead of skim. Delicious!

Today’s Farmer’s Market trip was highly successful:IMG_2797All these veggies (+ strawberries) for a mere $14!  I have no idea how this stand still had good fresh strawberries, since they are bordering on being out of season, but I’m not complaining.

For another $14, I got:

IMG_2798Locally made honey, a mini loaf of coconut bread, and three packages of some amazing pasta.  The pasta is made in Wisconsin with an ingredient list of approximately 6 items.  I am particularly intrigued by the asparagus one… I’ll report back once we’ve tried it.

Today’s lunch was a bit late, but good nonetheless.  IMG_2814The salad contained:

  • Romaine
  • Tomatoes
  • Red onion, which was way too strong and I ended up giving a lot of it to Dan.
  • Little bit of shredded Jack cheese
  • Ground “beef” (aka, ground soy), cooked with taco seasoning.
  • A yogurt-honey-lemon dressing I made just before serving.

It was good, but missing something I can’t quite put my finger on yet.  Or maybe it is that I’m not used to the fake-meat yet.  This is Day 7 of my 30-Days-Without-Meat experiment….

Off to a tailgate, then watching the Badger Game at Kelley’s!

September 5, 2009 at 4:26 pm



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.