Split Pea Soup

October 21, 2009 at 9:41 pm 13 comments

Split pea soup.  One of those things that sounds gross.  And weird.  And gross.  Especially because of its attractive yellow-green color.  I was always afraid to try it.

And then Dan & I went to a Mediterranean restaurant, where we were served split pea soup.  AMAZING.  I loved it!

I was craving it again the other day, so rather than pay money for it at the restaurant, I decided to make up the recipe on my own.

This may be the easiest recipe ever created.  Seriously.

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 c. dried split peas
  • 1 medium onion
  • 6 c. vegetable broth
  • 1 T. curry powder
  • 1 T. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. coriander
  • 1/4 tsp. allspice

Instructions

  1. Pour all ingredients into a crock pot.
  2. Cover pot.
  3. Cook on High 4-6 hours or Low 6-8 hours.
  4. Serve.

Seriously, that’s it.  If you can measure and pour things into a pot, you’ll be good to go.

IMG_3489The soup was the star of tonight’s dinner, and was paired with a sharp cheddar quesadilla. Aka, sharp cheddar cheese in a whole wheat tortilla, toasted on the Foreman grill.  I was craving something simple tonight, obviously.

I also made up some kale chips, which were delicious, but the photograph is super-blurry.  Sorry, folks!

The kale chips recipe came from Kath.

Rewinding a bit, my afternoon snack was some trail mix. This x4:

IMG_3488

I also went to Pilates Reformer training. Now I’m super sore.  That class is INTENSE!  I love it.  🙂

What’s your favorite soup recipe?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Catch Up The Little Things #5

13 Comments

  • 1. Diana  |  October 22, 2009 at 2:16 am

    I love spinach soup but really, I’ll eat pretty much every veggie soup. My mom makes some great soup, what can I say 😛

  • 2. Mellissa  |  October 22, 2009 at 8:14 am

    I make a great curried pumpkin and apple soup and nothing beats my grandmas homemade chicken soup!

  • 3. cookinfanatic  |  October 22, 2009 at 8:58 am

    I’ve never had split pea soup – weird right? Looks yummy though 🙂 I am currently loving this spicy pumpkin soup that I made the other weekend, and by “made” I mean purchased the mix from World Market and simmered with some half n’ half…. so not a recipe *sigh* but SO GOOD!!!!

  • 4. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is  |  October 22, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Looks great!!!

  • 5. Elizabeth  |  October 22, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Speaking of soup, I just made some as well! Not split pea though. BTW, whenever I hear/read about split pea soup, I think of those picture books with the hippo characters (George and Martha??). I think they ate a lot of it.

  • 6. Julie @savvyeats  |  October 22, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    No, not weird. My first time having it was this fall!

  • 7. Julie @savvyeats  |  October 22, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Both of those sound really good; I’d love to see the recipes if you’re willing to share 🙂

  • 8. Julie @savvyeats  |  October 22, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever had spinach soup… or even heard of it! I’ll have to look into it!

  • 9. Julie @savvyeats  |  October 22, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I don’t think I remember the hippo books? Split pea soup always makes me think of Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer because they say something about it being “as thick as split pea soup” I think 🙂

  • 10. Elizabeth  |  October 23, 2009 at 12:51 pm

  • 11. Change of Plans « Savvy Eats  |  October 26, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    […] is a cold and rainy day in Madison, so I heated up the last of my split pea soup. The hot and thick soup was exactly what I […]

  • 12. Karla  |  August 8, 2010 at 10:21 am

    I made this last night, on the stove top not in a slow cooker. It was my first shot at split pea anything! It was great! Thanks for the recipe!

  • 13. Change of Plans — Savvy Eats  |  January 29, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    […] is a cold and rainy day in Madison, so I heated up the last of my split pea soup. The hot and thick soup was exactly what I […]



Archives

October 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.