Archive for September 6, 2009

My first attempt at oats, made the right way

I used to have a love-hate relationship with oatmeal.  I would go through phases where I enjoyed it, but most of the time it was too slimy for me to stomach more than half a serving.

Then I started reading food blogs, and realized that if I added toppings, I could pump up the texture and flavor so that I would like it better…*lightbulb went off above my head*

I tried making overnight oats the other day, and it didn’t turn out quite right.  I don’t know what I did wrong, so I’ll have to try again soon.

Today, I decided to make Dan and I some oatmeal to fuel our berry picking morning.  I used Kath’s basic recipe (except the vanilla, which I forgot — oops!)

While it cooked, I munched on a handful of blueberries:

IMG_2821

IMG_2824My oats were topped with:

  • Unsweetened coconut
  • Crushed walnuts and pecans
  • A small, crumbled-up slice of the coconut bread from the Farmer’s market yesterday.

Sorry, my pictures are blurry! I am still learning how to take pictures of food… any advice, please?

Time to get ready to go pick some berries… hopefully this nasty headache goes away before we get there.  Right now, everything spins a bit when I bend over… 😦

September 6, 2009 at 8:38 am



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.