Archive for September 21, 2009

More pumpkin butter…

Today’s food was spread out throughout the day, because I have so many classes back to back!

First up,IMG_3065Sandwich Thin + Almond Butter + Pumpkin Butter + Apple Slices. Absolutely amazing!  It tastes like fall in sandwich form. 🙂

Two classes later…

IMG_3062Strawberry Chobani yogurt + Muesli (not pictured).

Another two classes later,

IMG_3061Two huge carrots with Jalapeno hummus.

I’m thinking I might experiment with a pumpkin/squash curry soup tonight… details to come!

September 21, 2009 at 6:05 pm 1 comment

Health-ified Cincinnati Chili

When we lived in Cincinnati, we used to go to Skyline on our way home from dance class.  At the time, I didn’t like chili, so I’d end up getting just a hot dog with cheese (healthy, right?)  Now that I like chili though, I love to make my own!

For those of you not familiar with Cincinnati chili, serve it over spaghetti (I used whole wheat).  Rice works too, even if it isn’t the traditional way. 🙂   Eat it 3, 4, or 5-ways:

3-way: Chili with spaghetti and cheese.

4-way: Chili with spaghetti, cheese and either beans or onions. There are beans in this version of the chili too, though… 🙂

5-way: Chili with spaghetti, cheese, beans, and onions.

So here it is, my “health-ified” Cincinnati Chili recipe.  I’m sorry, I can’t remember what recipe this is adapted from!  I’ve cut back the meat, upped the beans, and I recommend cutting back on the cheese!  Next time I make it, I want to try it with Parmesan instead of cheddar, but I haven’t tried it yet…

4 cups water
1/2 lb raw ground turkey
3 (14½ ounce) cans kidney beans, rinsed & drained
1 yellow onion, diced
4 garlic cloves, diced
6 oz. tomato paste (NOTE:  not tomato sauce)
1½ tablespoons cider vinegar
1½ teaspoons worcestershire sauce
2 to 2.5 tablespoons chili powder
1 teaspoon cumin
1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons sea salt
Black pepper and red pepper flakes, to taste
Cooked pasta or rice
Traditionally:  shredded reduced-fat cheddar cheese, and lots of it.  I still think it is fantastic with less, though.

Crumble raw ground turkey into water in a stockpot or other large pot.
Add one can of kidney beans, as well as the garlic, tomato paste, vinegar, Worcestershire sauce and all of the seasonings.  Stir and bring to a boil.
Turn down the heat and  simmer until the meat is cooked through and the chili is thickened.  This should take from 40 minutes to an hour, depending on how thick you like it.  I like it more like the texture of a meat sauce.
When the chili is nearly done, cook & drain the spaghetti and prepare the onion and remaining beans.  Heat the beans and onion in a skillet over low heat until heated through.

Plate the chili!  Top spaghetti with chili.  Top with beans, onions, and cheese.

Makes:  6 servings

Time to make: 90 min

Enjoy!

Picture to come the next time I make this.

September 21, 2009 at 11:18 am 3 comments

A Pumpkin-Full Day!

Today is all about pumpkins, apparently.  Yum!

I started the morning with some pumpkin & peach quinoa:

IMG_3067It contained:

  • 1/3 c. quinoa
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/3 c. vanilla soy milk
  • 1/2 T. pumpkin butter
  • 1 peach
  • 1 T. pepitas
  • Cinnamon

By the time I got to class, the peach was all warm from the quinoa.  It was sooo good.  I’ll be making this again for sure!

After our meeting (which is going to make our senior design/capstone project so much more manageable!), I had a half-hour long phone conversation with my mom about my future.  Yeah, that sounds like it wouldn’t be a fun conversation, but it was so incredibly helpful.  I’ve been freaking out the past few days because I don’t know if I actually want a career in my major.  I’m toying with the idea of becoming a R.D. (registered dietician) or going to culinary school, or pursing more on the business side of things.

She made me feel so much better, and calmed me down.  We’re going to see where life takes Dan and I.  Thanks, Mom! Jenna’s post also gave me some perspective, so thanks, Jenna!

I’m still tired from yesterday’s long day, so a soy pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks was in order.

More pumpkin love to come… hint: my lunch involves more pumpkin butter!

Feld044Throwing an engagement picture in there because it also makes me feel better… 🙂

September 21, 2009 at 10:51 am



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.