Archive for September 9, 2009

Why I Blog

Lunch was very spread out today…

A granola bar on the way to Volleyball class (not pictured).

A PB & honey sandwich on Arnold’s Thin Whole Wheat Bun (loved it!).  I was very excited about the Trader Joe’s strawberry preserves, but it was moldy, so honey it was  (sorry, blurry)…IMG_2896

An Australian Maple-flavored yogurt, which was OK but not my favorite:

IMG_2895Strawberries:

IMG_2892Carrots and Hummus:

IMG_2894And a graham cracker with chocolate frosting… it was just too tempting!  Sorry, no picture.

Volleyball was quite the workout; he had us doing drills the entire time!  That + walking for 2 1/2 hours today just to get to my classes should be sufficient exercise today, right? 🙂

Two friends know about this blog now, so they keep asking me if I need to take a picture of what I’m eating.  I usually do.  One of them asked me today what the point of this blog is. She asked if I was just trying to get comments, or so that I could read other blogs, and it is neither.

So why did I start this blog?

1.  To keep myself accountable for my exercise and eating as I finish college, get ready for my wedding, and find a full-time job.  It is so much easier for me to track my progress if it is all laid out in front of me on my screen!

2.  I love the blog community, and meeting new people who are also interested in food/running/etc.  Other bloggers have accomplished so many things by writing their blogs, and they are so inspiring!

Why did you start blogging?

September 9, 2009 at 5:14 pm 1 comment

Unintended Exercise

Apparently, I don’t do well on just 6 1/2 hours of sleep anymore.  I woke up this morning at about 6:00, out the door with a to-go container of oatmeal in hand by 6:20.  At about 6:35, almost to class, I realized something… Class starts at 7:45 am.  Not 6:45 am.

Way to go, Me.  I would have stayed on campus, but I didn’t have any homework with me.  So I ended up turning around and coming home, adding an extra 35 minute walk to my day.

The worst part?  I’m pretty sure I did the same thing once with my Microbiology course last semester.  Seriously.  Rolling out of bed to go to class is apparently not a good choice for me.

On the bright side, I did get to eat my breakfast at home, and my muscles were warmed up from my walk for me to get some good knee stretches in…

Before I cover breakfast, here are my eats from last night:

IMG_2880Leftover veggies, pasta, and beans, reheated in the SWE office microwave.

IMG_2882Tortilla chips and various dips at SWE Meeting #1 (the plate looks full but it is also very small…)

IMG_2883Most amazing puppy chow EVER at SWE Meeting #2.  I don’t know how Kristine did this differently than I usually do, but it was so much better!

IMG_2887Granola, berries and skim milk (again).  Plus a little more granola because I was still hungry.

Note to self:  Do not go to SWE meetings hungry!

For some reason, if I crave carbs at night, I wake up with a headache the next morning, regardless of whether or not I give in to those cravings, like I did last night.  Why??

I also jumped on my new trainer for my bike (yay!) and did a quick 6 miles to warm up my muscles:

6.00 miles

22:27 minutes

And did some basic stretching for my legs in an attempt to ease the stiffness in my knee.

This morning’s breakfast had time to get nice and melty on my 35 minute walk.  It was delicious with a nice crunch:

IMG_2890(Note the tupperware since I thought I’d be eating this in class.)

My oats were topped with:

  • 1 T. PB
  • 4 PB pretzels  from Whole Foods’s bulk bins
  • Dash of chocolate chips (10-15, I would guess?)

Sooooo good.  I particularly liked the crunch from the pretzels.

Okay, off to class, this time for real…

September 9, 2009 at 7:11 am 1 comment



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.