Archive for September 26, 2009

I’m Getting Faster!

I woke up bright and early to run to the Farmer’s Market for my weekly dose of local produce.  Since I was going by myself this week, I decided to give my new iPod shuffle a spin…loved it!

Apparently, that short 2-mi. run I did as fast as I could earlier this week actually helped me increase my average pace?!  My stats for the run:

Distance: 2.1 mi

Time: 21 minutes

Average pace: 10:00/mile!!

At the beginning of the summer, I was seriously running at a 15:00 pace, so this is awesome!

To hold me over to our tailgate, I got a pumpkin bar I have been eyeing for the past few weeks.  I ate a little less than a quarter of this delicious-ness:

IMG_3124After a quick shower, Dan and I headed over to Kim’s for some pre-Badger game pancakes.  The chocolate chip ones were the best!  Kim lives right outside the stadium, and it was nice to hang out with friends, eating good food and watching all the fans walk by!  I didn’t take a picture of the food, but I do have a picture of the people:

IMG_3125

Wedding Update:

Dan and I printed our Save-the-Dates today…yippee!  I’m feeling super motivated to get some work done for the wedding this weekend, after my awful nightmare a few nights ago.

To recap the nightmare: All my bridesmaids, except for my sister, decided they’d rather do things like go to football games than come to the wedding.  We were running three hours behind.  I didn’t have time to wash my hair.  I couldn’t find my mom, who had my dress and jewelry.  I had forgotten half my makeup.  The photographer was missing.  For some unknown reason, I was getting ready in a locker room (?).  We weren’t at the right place.  We had forgotten to reserve a room at the correct place.

Basically, everything that could possibly go wrong in a wedding, did.  I’m taking it as a sign that I should work on the wedding planning a bit this weekend.  🙂

None of the pre-set templates at Archiver’s for save-the-dates really appealed to Dan and I, so I’ll be doing some of the work myself.  We’ve printed out the picture card, but I’ll be writing the text on myself.  They will look so cool in the end, though!

I also started working on our guest book over at Blurb.com.  I think I may end up using something like this for our final wedding pictures, too!

When we got back, we watched some football while we ate lunch:

IMG_3129Apple slices

IMG_3132With pumpkin butter + almond butter for dipping. (Yum!!)

IMG_3131IMG_3130Carrots and pita chips with baba ganoush.

IMG_3128My first pumpkin beer. I shared with Dan; he probably drank a little over 2/3 of it, I drank the rest.  I liked it more than I like most beers, but its still not quite a taste I’ve acquired!

Today was just screaming for a nap, so we gave in and napped on the futon for about a half hour.  I couldn’t get anything done this afternoon and finally realized it was because I hadn’t eaten enough today.  So I sipped on some chai tea with

IMG_31361/2 a Sandwich Thins with strawberry/raspberry preserves and a piece of Scharffenberger chocolate, one of my favorites!  I picked up the preserves at the Farmer’s Market this morning; I tried one of their samples, and it was like heaven on a cracker, so I had to buy a jar!  Delicious, and pretty healthy as far as spreads go!

After some work and a trip to Trader Joe’s, I decided to make a big pasta dinner:

IMG_3147Zucchini and spinach sauteed with herbs and marinara sauce.  Topped with Parmesan on a bed of fresh spinach linguine. Yum!  I know the tomato sauce already has herbs in it, but adding a little basil and rosemary and lots of oregano makes such a world of difference!!

IMG_3138It was a huge plate, and I still can’t believe I ate most of it!  My body has been telling me all day that it needs more fuel though, so that’s what I’m giving it!

Sorry to jam everything from today into one update; I’ll break it up more tomorrow for sure!

Off to bed.  I’m taking Dan to the airport at 4:00 am tomorrow for a second job interview, so I need to get some sleep!

How was your Saturday?

September 26, 2009 at 10:26 pm 3 comments



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.