Change of Plans

October 26, 2009 at 4:46 pm 5 comments

Change of Plans: Food

Remember that lunch I was going to eat?  Chobani, berries and granola?

I didn’t eat that.

I wasn’t that hungry today, so I just ate my Glo Bar and honeycrisp apple.  I’m saving the Chobani for another day; it is the last one I have!

It is a cold and rainy day in Madison, so I heated up the last of my split pea soup. The hot and thick soup was exactly what I needed.

IMG_3598On the side, I had some carrots and pita chips with hummus.

IMG_3599Unfortunately, the carrots I bought at the Farmer’s Market are really soft, and I couldn’t bring myself to eat more than 1 1/2 of them.

I don’t know what to have for dinner.  This isn’t a problem of not having any ideas.  This is a problem of having too many ideas swirling in my head.  Check back later to see what I chose! 😉

Change of Plans: Work

Remember my posts about stress and priorities?

I thought I could handle everything on that list.  Recently, though, I’ve felt as if something had to go.

Before I tell you what I changed, I must share this:  I do not like being a quitter.  I do not like to give up on something just because it is hard or time-consuming.  This decision was made two days ago, and I still feel icky about it.  But, I know it was the right thing for me to do.

I am no longer an unpaid intern for MixMyGranola.  Such a long list of priorities meant I was spreading myself far too thin.  I don’t have the time that would be required for a successful internship.  After putting 4.5 years into getting my engineering degree, and 4 years into developing my leadership in SWE, I want to end my college career on a strong note, without sacrificing my relationships.  Trying to do both the unpaid internship and the Student Assistant job for the freshman engineering course, in addition to the blog, would not allow me to do this.

I hate that I had to make this decision, but I know in the end that it was the right thing to do.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Link Love (Almost Vegan) Pumpkin Fudge Brownies

5 Comments

  • 1. Diana  |  October 26, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    If you know it was the right thing to do, that’s the only thing that matters. That way you can focus 100% on other more important things. Good for you. 🙂

  • 2. Allison R.  |  October 26, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    I know what you mean about being a “quitter,” but this isn’t quitting so much as “putting what’s most important first!” I know how things can get crazy, so keep on chuggin! 🙂 I also had soup today…icky icky day here in Madtown!

  • 3. Mellissa  |  October 26, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Don’t stress and work too much, you have the rest of your life to do this. You ONLY get your senior year of college once, enjoy it.

  • 4. Grace  |  October 26, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    If only we had more hours in the day to do all of the things we want to do! I think you are very wise to prioritize your time and not allow yourself to be spread too thin for too long.

  • 5. Kelley  |  October 29, 2009 at 11:49 am

    That means more time for me!!! 🙂 And, while Mellissa’s idea is perfect, you get your senior year TWICE. 🙂

    Even more time to enjoy it.



Archives

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

