New: Training Page and Project Strength!

October 19, 2009 at 12:31 am 7 comments

I have now been at LAX for almost 13 hours.  In just one more, we’ll be boarding the plane…

Here’s the deal:  Our flight was overbooked.  Okay, fine, that happens all the time, because people don’t show up or otherwise miss the flight, etc.  The problem comes in when the plane ends up being a smaller one than was originally planned, which is what happened today.  The airline was looking for 19 people to volunteer to give up their seats in exchange for 2 free round-trip tickets for anywhere in the continental US, as well as vouchers for lunch and dinner. All of us decided to take it, so we’re spending 14 hours in the airport today, plus 6 on the plane and in the car from Milwaukee to Madison.

Dan and I plan to use the tickets to visit his brother Josh in the Seattle area.  All I can say is, this better be a good trip to Washington! 🙂

I decided not to blog my eats today, but I am adding a new page to my blog:  my training page! I’ve put together my training plan for the next six weeks.  It is very ambitious, but I think I can do it!  Here’s a screen shot of Week 1, starting tomorrow:

Picture 2

Don’t worry, I’m working on figuring out how to make this easier for you to see!  The calendar is color-coded as follows:

  • Red: Classes, SWE, work, and other things that I need to schedule my training around
  • Yellow: Pilates
  • Blue: Strength Training
  • Green: Running
  • Purple: Cross-training (usually bicycling)

I have put together a few strength training workouts, with the help of Jessica over at How Sweet It Is (thanks, Jessica!). Here’s my plan:

  • Push-ups every day for 63 days, as many as I can do! They say it takes 21 days to pick up a habit, so doing this for 63 days (3x as long!), should do the trick to tone up my upper body.
  • Pilates 2-3 times a week
  • Additional strength training 2-3 times a week for the next 9 weeks, using a combination of the following:
  • Lunges
  • Side lunges
  • Squats
  • Plie squats
  • Bent over rows
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips or kickbacks
  • Overhead triceps extensions
  • Chest presses
  • Chest flies
  • Overhead presses
  • Side raises
  • Front raises

I hate to put together a strict routine, because I know my muscles will get used to the exercises and it won’t be as effective.  For each strength training session, I’ll post what my actual routine was that day.

I may even post before and after pictures at some point… we’ll see! 🙂

These next 9 weeks shall be Project Strength. Anyone want to join me?

Keep coming back to see my results!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

We Won! Acorn Squash & Apple Pizza

7 Comments

  • 1. Allison R.  |  October 19, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Yes! I def need to tone up!

  • 2. Diana  |  October 19, 2009 at 1:47 am

    Yep, same here. I definitely need to “tone up” now that I’ve lost almost all the weight I wanted to lose 🙂 Good luck with the project!

  • 3. Dad  |  October 19, 2009 at 5:14 am

    Very impressive

  • 4. Mellissa  |  October 19, 2009 at 9:32 am

    I will join you but lets call it Project Strength or Project Muscles. Tone is such a bad word 😉

  • 5. Marty  |  October 19, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    I am totally impressed. And I can tell you know what you are doing. Let me know when you are ready to do your first marathon, maybe I’ll join you.

  • 6. Julie @savvyeats  |  October 19, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Good call! See the Updated title 😉

  • 7. Tay  |  October 19, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    Wow so motivational! I love it!



Archives

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

