Impressive Breakfast, Unimpressive Lunch….

October 17, 2009 at 2:28 am 3 comments

Reminder: Follow Me on Twitter!

Before I go into today’s post, I just wanted to remind you to follow me on Twitter!

SWE Conference, continued

This morning was our big presentation for the Team Tech competition.  We worked on finding a “green” use for the charcoal and berries left over from vodka and gin production, respectively.  Holly did a great job at the presentation, and we find out tomorrow night how we did!

IMG_3397Way to go team! (the part we could afford to bring!)

No, we didn’t plan to all match.  It just happened!

Impressive Cafe

We stopped at a little place called “La Caffia” on our way to the presentations for breakfast.  I was kind of impressed by their healthy and natural options!  They had the typical goodies, like muffins and bagels, but they also had:

IMG_3390Odwalla smoothies — I chose Chocolate Protein Monster and

IMG_3391IMG_3392Heart Thrive Vegan Energy Bars I chose Chocolate Chip.

I liked both of my breakfast items.  The Odwalla reminded me of something I can’t quite place my finger on, but it provided me with lots of delicious, filling protein!  I think I would rather make my own smoothies, but when you’re traveling, that’s not really an option. 🙂

I really liked the Heart Thrive hearts.  I ate one of the two (expect to see #2 in tomorrow’s breakfast!).  It was perfectly chewy and just a tiny bit sweet, and didn’t have the typical protein bar “chalky” feel.  The chocolate chips added a nice crunch, too.  Yum!

Unimpressive Lunch

IMG_3398IMG_3399Traditionally, the Friday lunch at the career fair has been highly unimpressive.  Last year, in fact, I didn’t eat any of it, since I didn’t think I could eat gluten. That was probably a good thing…

Here is my veggie sandwich on slightly-dry “wheat” bread.  The sandwich contained tomatoes, sprouts, and lettuce, and nothing else.  I only ate about half of it.  Unfortunately, that left me with the chips to eat.  Bummer.

Yummy Snack

Luckily, I had a good snack waiting for me back at the hotel.  A pluot (unpictured) and a new bar:

IMG_3403IMG_3404An Oskri Turkish Delight bar, which we got for free at the bike ride a few weeks back. It was good, and reminded me of BumbleBars, but I don’t know that I would pay for it.

An Island Dinner

We met the rest of the Wisconsin SWE  conference attendees for dinner at a restaurant called Island’s.  I decided to splurge a little and get the Kilauea burger.  From the menu:

“Jalapeno & black pepper crusted burger w/ pepper jack cheese, chipotle aioli, lettuce, tomato & seasoned red onion strings.”

I ordered it with a veggie patty instead of the beef.  It was AMAZING!

IMG_3406I paired it with a glass of Pinot Grigio. It was so good, but went straight to my head; I’m a major light-weight!

IMG_3405After dinner, we were all stuffed, so we decided to walk along the pier for a bit.  It was such a gorgeous night!

IMG_3417I am so tired, so I am off to bed.  Come back in the morning for a guest post!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Do YOU Have Stress? Guest Post: Top 10 Fitness Tips

3 Comments

  • 1. Kelley  |  October 17, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    That veggie burger looked amazing! Wish I could have been there!

  • 2. We Won! « Savvy Eats  |  October 18, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    […] Team Tech, Third Place!! Remember Holly’s presentation on Friday? Out of 7 teams, we got third place!  Which also includes a cash […]

  • 3. We Won! — Savvy Eats  |  January 26, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    […] Team Tech, Third Place!! Remember Holly’s presentation on Friday? Out of 7 teams, we got third place!  Which also includes a cash […]



Archives

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

