It’s Official: We’re Moving!!

October 14, 2009 at 11:39 pm 6 comments

Whew, today has been a whirlwind!  I thought today was going to be a “slow” day at the SWE conference, but I’ve been gone for 10 hours!  Hence, my blog reader on Thunderbird has exploded… 🙂

SWE Conference, Day 1

I started the morning with the best pluot I have ever tasted, courtesy of the Studio City Farmer’s Market the other day!

We went to the California Pizza Kitchen for lunch (+ breakfast for most of the group):

IMG_3364I decided that I didn’t want a “typical” pizza flavor, so I decided to branch out.  I tried the Pear & Gorgonzola Pizza with field greens, and it was so incredibly good!

IMG_3365Lesson learned:  Pears on pizza = delicious!

IMG_3366We decided to get dessert too, since we knew we wouldn’t be eating again for awhile:

IMG_3367I got the chocolate souffle cake.  It was good, but I wouldn’t get it again.  The pizza, though, I would definitely order again.

Six of our group got to go to….

Behind the Scenes at Disneyland!

IMG_3368

Unfortunately, pictures weren’t allowed once we got to the park, but we did take some on the bus.

The beginning of the tour was AWESOME.  We got to go underneath the “Soarin’ Over Califonia” ride to watch the ride from below.  Then we actually went on the ride.  It was so cool to see!

The rest of the tour was only okay, but still interesting.  We went behind the scenes of one of the rollercoasters as well, but a lot of what they told us went way over my head.  It was still fun, though.

Rock Bottom Brewery

We met up with the rest of our group for dinner at the Rock Bottom Brewery.  After such a big lunch, I really wasn’t very hungry and wanted something light:

IMG_3376Edamame

IMG_3378French Onion Soup. I didn’t eat all of that cheese, don’t worry. 🙂

IMG_3375A glass of Reisling to celebrate my and Dan’s big announcement:

We’re Moving!

Dan has signed the paperwork and is mailing it in tomorrow, so it is now official:  We are moving to Ithaca, NY after graduation.  Dan has accepted a job with IMR Test Labs as a metallurgical engineer.  I’ve started looking for a job there as well.

So, any readers in the Upstate New York area? 🙂

It is supposed to be sunny and warm tomorrow, so I’ll be able to get a run in!  Yay!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Welcome to Long Beach, CA I Miss My Kitchen!

6 Comments

  • 1. Allison R.  |  October 15, 2009 at 12:46 am

    Congrats! 🙂

  • 2. runningaroundnormal  |  October 15, 2009 at 7:14 am

    That pizza looks amazing!! Congrats on the move:D

  • 3. cookinfanatic  |  October 15, 2009 at 10:41 am

    My boyfriends entire family (they’re Italian, it’s huge!) live in Albany, NY! Congrats on the great news 🙂

  • 4. Julie @savvyeats  |  October 15, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    That’s awesome! If you’re ever in the area after June, let me know and we’ll have a meet-up!

  • 5. I Miss My Kitchen! « Savvy Eats  |  October 15, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    […] Recipes ← It’s Official: We’re Moving!! […]

  • 6. Kristine  |  October 17, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Ithaca is gorgeous! My little brother goes to school there! It’s a great college town. I bet you’ll love it! 🙂



Archives

October 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.