Literacy Network 5K

October 4, 2009 at 9:04 pm 3 comments

Clearly, I did not refuel properly after yesterday’s ride.  According to various websites, I burned somewhere between 2100 and 2500 calories yesterday, but probably only ate 2200 all day.  As a result, I woke up absolutely starving this morning.  The lesson in this:  Eat more on long ride days!

IMG_3216Before today’s 5K, I went with my new favorite:  Almond Butter + Pumpkin Butter + Apple on a Sandwich Thins. I never get tired of this combo!

Big thanks to Dan and Becky for cheering me on during my 5K this morning!  Dan also acted as my photographer (I’m the one wearing bright pink in all of these pictures 🙂 ):

IMG_3219Waiting to start…

IMG_3225And…we’re off!

IMG_3231In the home stretch now…

IMG_3233DONE!  My time was just over 31 minutes, two minutes faster than my last 5K!    I’m still waiting for the official time, and will update you when I find out!

I liked this 5K a lot.  Not only was it for a great cause, but it was well organized.  And the trail was pretty much completely flat, which probably contributed to my faster time.  I was a little bit worried that the dirt path along the lake that made up most of the route would be all mud, due to the recent rain, but luckily it dried before the race!

My favorite part of this race was that at the 1 mile and 2.1 mile marks they had running clocks to show you the current time.  For those of us without our own GPS, this was extremely helpful.  I was especially excited to see that my pace was about 10:30 at mile 2.1, and it gave me an extra boost to speed up for the last mile!

Actually, I had another favorite part.  They were not using the usual throw-away time chips = more eco-friendly race!

Is it bad that I want to sign up for another 5K? 🙂

The rest of the day was spent studying at Starbucks, playing soccer, and attempting to do more homework at home.  And eating.  I’ve been starving all day…that’s what I get for not eating enough yesterday.

An unpictured banana + cookie after the 5K.

IMG_3234A Leonardo de Veggie bagel sandwich from Brueggers, which is attached to Starbucks.  I don’t eat many bagels, but this totally hit the spot!

IMG_3235Blackberries.

IMG_3236Huge bowl of green beans + jalapeno hummus and baba ganoush.

Another cookie, home-made by Becky. (After this weekend, I think I’m done with cookies for awhile. 🙂 But I swear, cookies taste best post-workout!)

IMG_3237Random trail mix. I didn’t eat as much of this as it looks; I packed extra to share with Dan and Becky!

I made the mix this morning…

  • Cocoa-roasted almonds
  • Mixed nuts
  • Extra walnuts and peanuts
  • Dried mangosteen
  • Yogurt-covered raisins
  • Whole Foods M&M’s
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Pepitas
  • Freeze-dried strawberries and bananas from Just Tomatoes (this stuff is amazing.  seriously.)
  • Dried pineapple, cherries, cranberries and raisins

Post-soccer, I had

IMG_3238Beet Risotto with Barley instead of Arborio rice, recipe courtesy of Bella Eats.

IMG_3241Rutabaga “fries”, inspired by Meghann’s post.

Not the most protein-filled dinner, but it tasted delicious and fresh!

Tomorrow is most definitely a rest day!  Probably Tuesday, too. 🙂

Goodnight, all!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Tyranena Oktoberfest Bike Ride My Official Time is….

3 Comments

  • 1. Lizzy  |  October 4, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    Congrats on your run girl!!! so proud of you! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  • 2. cookinfanatic  |  October 5, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Hey girl! Just saw the beet risotto make it on the blog, and it looks good…. what’d you think?! 🙂

  • 3. Julie @savvyeats  |  October 5, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    It was soooo good. Highly recommend it! Just be careful, because the beets stain!

    In fact, I made it the other morning because I knew I wouldn’t have time to make it at an actual dinner time… the fiance has already eaten most of it! 🙂



Archives

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

