Tyranena Oktoberfest Bike Ride

October 3, 2009 at 9:32 pm 3 comments

We did it!

Distance:  57.36 miles (!!!)

Time: 4 hours, 55 min

Yes, it was supposed to be a 46-mile ride.  We’ll get to that…

IMG_3210Here I am, exhausted but excited about my accomplishment!

The first 10 miles were very…wet.  Remember how I said there was only a 10% chance of rain this morning?  Yeah, apparently we got that 10%, because it was pouring when we left.  This is also why I have very few pictures from the ride; I didn’t want to get my camera wet!  Dan had a water-proof disposable camera, so we did get some pics, but they aren’t accessible at the moment.

I would like to thank the guys at Berkeley Running Company, who advised me to buy this jacket last night.  I would have been very cold and wet and miserable without it!  However, it repelled water wonderfully, and blocked the wind.  I love my UnderArmour jacket now 🙂  Actually, thanks for helping me pick out my tights to wear over my padded bike shorts, too!

Happily, the sun came out around mile 7 and it didn’t rain much after the first 10 miles, making for a better ride.

The first rest stop was at the Trek facilities.  Not only did they offer the usual food/drink/restrooms, they also opened up their lobby for riders to walk through.  They have Lance Armstrong’s bikes on display, as well as some other fun bikes, so it was a cool place to stop! 🙂

The next 8 miles were rather rough, with some major hills.  However, we made it to the second rest stop with no incidents.

After that though, things got a little sticky.  While I had a lot of fun on the ride, I’m going to have to give the organizers a D grade on their signage.  At a very confusing intersection, we saw the arrow to go straight, but missed the arrow to turn right because it was covered in gravel.  As a result, we did an extra 6 mile loop, and also had to ride by ourselves the rest of the way.  It didn’t help that there were 6 or 7 mile stretches in the middle of nowhere with no indication that you were still going in the right direction.  Since we were so far behind everyone else, we kept getting nervous that we had missed another turn.

On the bright side, I managed to get up all of the hills, even the “walls,” without walking at all!  Granted, some of them were very slow hills, but I made it nonetheless!

For some reason, the 52-mile route was named the “46 mile route.” We never did figure out why, but I know that we would have ridden 52 miles if we had been going in the right direction the whole time. 🙂  But really, once you’ve ridden 52 miles, what’s another 6?

Okay, another 6 is a lot at that point if you aren’t a big biker.  But I still made it!

On a final note, I think the next time I do a big ride like this, I will bring my own snacks. I was not impressed by the food at the rest stops.  They had fruit, which was good but not sufficient fuel when you’re riding that far.  Honestly, I ended up eating quite a few cookies because they were the only thing other than fruit that didn’t make me feel nauseous.  So next time, I’m bringing my own. 🙂

Despite the disappointing food and signage, we had a lot of fun.  Dan was very encouraging, especially when I hit a bit of a wall around mile 50.  He cheered me on the whole way back!

Plus, I figure that since I can do this ride, I’ll be fine in Europe for the honeymoon!

I never thought I’d say that I rode 50+ miles without complaining, but I did it!

Now, I’m going to go enjoy a Green Monster and some granola with milk–I’m hungry!

See you for my 5K recap tomorrow! (Seriously, am I insane?!)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Here We Go… Literacy Network 5K

3 Comments

  • 1. Lizzy  |  October 4, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    CONGRATS GIRL! i’m so proud of you! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  • 2. Dad  |  October 5, 2009 at 5:10 am

    great recap.

    You understand once you do 60 a few times, 80 is no big deal

  • 3. Impressive Breakfast, Unimpressive Lunch…. « Savvy Eats  |  October 17, 2009 at 2:30 am

    […] Oskri Turkish Delight bar, which we got for free at the bike ride a few weeks back. It was good, and reminded me of BumbleBars, but I don’t know that I would pay for […]



Archives

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

