Autumn Dinner!

September 24, 2009 at 9:49 pm

I was definitely in a cooking mood today.  I made:

1.  Pumpkin Curry Soup

2.  Applesauce

3.  Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

4.  Pumpkin Puree

5.  Irish Creme Brownies

Yum!  We enjoyed the soup, applesauce, and some bread from Trader Joe’s with Kelley while we watched Bones and Fringe.  Okay, Dan only watched Bones because Fringe is too weird for him. 😉  Sadly, these shows are on at the same time as Grey’s… thank goodness they put the episodes online!  If you watched the premiere, don’t give anything away, please!

Applesauce

First up was the applesauce.  I mixed apples, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, brown sugar, water and lemon juice in the crock pot and cooked it on high for 3 hours.  It started off looking like this:

IMG_3099And ended up looking like this:

IMG_3102Okay, the picture is horrible and fuzzy.  I’ll take a better one when I eat the leftovers. 🙂

Pumpkin Curry Soup:

IMG_3105I got the recipe from one of the stands at the Farmer’s Market.  Sadly, I was not impressed by this soup.  It was very bland.  Adding some curry powder and pepitas certainly helped.  I think I’m going to freeze the leftovers, and add lots of veggies and more seasoning to it when I eat it later!

Brownies

I used a Cooking Light recipe that I found here. Since I have no eggs, I tried combining 1 T. ground flaxseed and 3 T. of warm water to replace each egg.  Unfortunately, it didn’t quite work, so the brownies were very crumbly.  But still delicious.  And totally worth using up the last of my chocolate and Bailey’s.

Pumpkin Seeds

Always delicious, need I say more? 🙂

All in all, I cooked a lot of autumn foods today!  What’s your favorite autumn ingredient?

Giveaway:

To win a Nathan Quickdraw Hydration Plus Bottle, go to Leslie’s blog here and enter by tomorrow!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Field Trip! The Little Things #3



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

