First 5K tomorrow!

September 19, 2009 at 8:02 pm 1 comment

I have my first 5K tomorrow… the Henry Vilas Zoo Run Run! I’m getting nervous.  And excited!

I knew I would be going grocery shopping around dinner time, and didn’t want to shop hungry, so I had a bit of granola before I left:

IMG_3029“Last Taste of Summer” from MixMyGranola.com.  French Vanilla Granola + Dried Raspberries + Dried Strawberries, with a bit of Vanilla Soy Milk.   See how cute and little the dried berries are?  Delicious, too. 🙂

I made a little trip to Whole Foods.  I’ve decided that in the future I need to also go to Copp’s or something for basics like milk and tortillas, where they are actually affordable!  I did, however, get to use my Chobani coupon!  It was kind of a fun experiment, to see what I could get at a reasonable price.  So for instance, while I skipped milk and tortillas, I did get some good Greek yogurt to eat with my cereal instead, and a few bagels, which I haven’t had in ages!

I felt like a quick and light dinner:

IMG_3033Green beans and carrots, sauteed in canola oil, mustard seeds, allspice, and coriander.

IMG_3037Baba ganoush with pita chips. I had a few more pita chips than pictured here because my dip to chip ratio was way off.  Oops!  Now I know, though, to NOT get the additional chips by bringing the bag to the table, but to just put a few on my plate.  Otherwise, I’ll eat way too many of these delicious things!

IMG_3040The last of the strawberries and Concord grapes from the Farmer’s Market last weekend.  The strawberries were great, but I only ate about 3 grapes.  At that point, I noticed that there was a spider web in the middle of the bunch, and a spider was crawling across my plate.  I naturally freaked out, and that was the end of the grapes.  Luckily none of the ones I ate were touching the spider web.  I still feel incredibly ick about it though… trying not to think about it!

All together:

IMG_3035I have a little work to get done, then getting some sleep before my first-ever race!

Wish me luck!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Dear Dane County Farmer’s Market A Long, Wonderful Day

1 Comment

  • 1. Meredith  |  September 20, 2009 at 8:29 am

    Good luck with your 5k!



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

