Dear Dane County Farmer’s Market

September 19, 2009 at 2:22 pm

Dear Dane County Farmer’s Market,

I love you.  Only by coming to you can I get both a 5-mile walk and this amount of produce (all grown in Wisconsin, mind you):

IMG_3024for just this:

  • 4 bell peppers             = $1.00
  • 4 summer squash      = $1.00
  • 3 peaches                    =$3.50
  • 1 cantaloupe               =$1.00
  • 1 butternut squash    =$1.50
  • 1 pumpkin                  =$2.00
  • 2 eggplants                 =$2.00

Grand total… $12.00.  That’s right, $12.00.  I will miss your bounty of produce come winter, Farmer’s Market.

Sincerely,  Julie @savvyeats

Dan’s mom is visiting today, so I came home after the Farmer’s Market to shower, bake banana bread, and clean!  Okay, the banana bread was perhaps not a pressing need, but the bananas were starting to attract fruit flies, so I wanted to use them.  Pronto.

I used Kath’s recipe, minus the walnuts and chocolate chips.  Delicious with a little bit of almond butter, by the way!

We decided to go to Bluephie’s in Madison.  This is the place that makes the chocolate chip cookie dough egg rolls that we are serving at our wedding instead of cake.

I decided to go a healthier route than the eggrolls today. 🙂   IMG_3025A cup of white bean-vegetable soup (without the crackers)

IMG_3027The southwestern crab cake salad. Minus the goat cheese it was supposed to come with.  I ate one of the two crab cakes and about half the veggies — saving the rest for later!  It was my first time trying jicama, which I’ve been wanting to try since reading about it here.

And finally,

IMG_3026An orange tea.  Unsweetened. And sideways, apparently… :-/

Don’t be fooled by the beer glass, it really is orange tea!

I was still a little hungry when we got home, so I gave in and had some of my banana bread.  With almond butter.  Perfect dessert!

IMG_3028I am abnormally excited to go grocery shopping today.  Really, I am. I’m so excited to try some new recipes (Pumpkin Curry Soup?  Recreating Squash Curry? Falafel?), and want to get the ingredients I need for them!  Grocery shopping is my favorite errand ever!  Based on the comments on Kelly’s post, I’m not alone 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Coming Soon…. First 5K tomorrow!



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

