Tips for Running Outside, Anyone?

September 13, 2009 at 2:49 pm 2 comments

Hey all, just a quick post as I take a break from my homework, then I’m diving back into it!

I think the past two appetite-less days finally caught up with me.  I’ve been so hungry all day!

IMG_2963Breakfast this morning was Peanut Almond Oatmeal!  It contained:

  • 1/3 c. oats
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/3 c. vanilla soy milk
  • 1/2 banana, sliced super thin
  • A dash of salt and a splash of vanilla

Topped with:

  • 1 T. almond butter (finally decided to try a jar from Trader Joe’s.  I was a little iffy on the texture at first, but by the end of the bowl, I was in love.)
  • 1 T. cacao nibs (for a bitter, chocolate crunch!)
  • A tiny slice of the coconut bread that is getting quite stale, but was great in the oatmeal
  • 3 PB pretzels, crumbled

Amazing!

After a few hours of homework/ catching up on blogs/ planning my week, it was time for lunch!

IMG_2964Some of my pasta leftovers from last week, with a little pesto and Parmesan on top to add some more flavor.

IMG_2969Strawberries from the Farmer’s Market (seriously, how does this vendor STILL have fresh, delicious strawberries?  I bought an extra quart for freezing…) with a dollop (appx. 1/4 cup) Vanilla non-fat Oikos and a few tablespoons granola.

I am STILL hungry, and have soccer in about an hour, so another snack will probably come in there.  My workout schedule for today:

3:30-4:30   Kelley gives me soccer lessons

4:30-5:30   We have our first intramural soccer game

6:00-6:30   5K run, possibly on treadmill, depending on my knees

I know a lot of people hate running on the treadmill, but I love it!  I like to read while I run so that I’m not constantly thinking “how far have I gone? how much further do I have to go?  how long have I been running?”  Plus, it is easier on my knees.  I’m still a beginning runner, and I’m hoping that as I build up endurance and speed, I’ll enjoy running outside more because I’ll be able to just “get into my zone.”  Until then, I’m running mostly on the treadmill with at least one outdoor run a week!

I also think it would help if I could a) listen to music while I ran outside and b) had a way to know my pace and how far I’ve gone while running outside, because that’s my favorite part of treadmill-running.

Unfortunately, I can’t run with my IPod because it has a hard disk and moving parts = bad fit for running.  I’m debating getting an IPod shuffle or some similar small MP3 player… any advice on what to get?

I’m hoping to get a Garmin or something somewhere down the line, but I don’t want to make that big of an investment until I know for sure I will use it a lot.

Any tips on how to make outdoor running more enjoyable for the beginning runner?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Coming Soon to a Blog Near You! Curried Tomato & Vegetable Stew

2 Comments

  • 1. biz319  |  September 13, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    I love the iPod shuffle when working out – you never know what song is coming up next and its really small!

    If you go back to my blog, on the top where it says about, recipes, the first person, etc. there is a tab that says BSI rules – you’ll get all the info there! 😀

  • 2. Julie @savvyeats  |  September 13, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    Thanks!



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

I’m a Member of 20 Something Bloggers

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

