The fabulous-ness that is the Taste of Madison

September 7, 2009 at 11:09 am 1 comment

Berry picking was AWESOME.  It was our first time at this farm, and the owners were so great.  They highly encouraged that we eat as many berries as we liked while we were picking (and I definitely took them up on that 😉 ).

We came home with 11 pints of raspberries!  Most of them were red, but we also got a pint of yellow and a pint and a half of orange raspberries.  I had never had the yellow or orange breeds before; the yellows are my favorite!  They are a bit more sweet, with a honey taste to them; the orange ones are a bit more tart and citrusy.  IMG_2827

We found a few cute little frogs on the leaves of the raspberry bushes:

IMG_2828

11 pints for $2.50 each… a steal compared to the $6-7/pint at the grocery store!

IMG_2834After berry picking and a quick trip to Whole Foods and Penzey’s Spices (my first time to Penzey’s, and I loved it!), we came home to shower and have a small lunch:

IMG_2840Baked green beans (with a touch of chili oil from the Farmer’s Market), blue corn tortilla chips, hummus and baba ganoush.  We knew we would be at the Taste of Madison less than 2 hours later, so we kept lunch light.

Around 3, Dan and I met up with Kelley, Jenny, Amanda and Kim to go to the Taste at Capitol Square. Taste of Madison is when a bunch of restaurants from around Madison set up stands and sell samplings from their menu for $2-4 each.  We’ve discovered some great restaurants and favorite foods through the Taste of Madison because the portions are so small and prices so low that if you don’t like anything, it isn’t a big deal!

I didn’t take pictures of everything I ate at the Taste of Madison, because I sampled bites of everything that anyone in our group bought!  Everything was delicious though! Highlights include Squash Curry from Sai Bai Thong Thai, and chocolate chip cookie dough egg rolls from Bluephie’s.  We love the egg rolls so much that we are actually having them at our wedding instead of cake!  I ate an entire egg roll and about half of the Squash Curry (shared with Amanda, picture below), and had a bite or two of everything else!

IMG_2841

We also ended up getting ice cream from the Chocolate Shoppe (PB Cookie Dough, yum!), because we are rarely on that side of town at an ice-cream-appropriate time of day.  It was a pretty unhealthy night, but you have to splurge every once in awhile, right?

This morning, I didn’t have much of an appetite, so I just threw together a smoothie with some frozen fruit, YoPlus yogurt, and milk, and drank it out of my favorite mug:

IMG_2843

Off to get some homework done, and then get a head-start on my cooking for the week!

Yes, I realize that some of these pictures are sideways.  I can’t figure out how to fix it yet, but I’m working on it!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My first attempt at oats, made the right way I *heart* granola

1 Comment

  • 1. Link Love « Savvy Eats  |  October 26, 2009 at 11:53 am

    […] raspberries from our berry-picking outing, Peach Chobani, and a tiny bit of granola. For an afternoon snack, another Renew Glo-Bar. […]



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

