I *heart* granola

September 7, 2009 at 4:36 pm 2 comments

Despite the fact that we already have leftovers in our fridge just begging to be eaten, I cooked a huge pot of pasta, veggies, and beans for lunch/more leftovers.  I have a lot of Society of Women Engineers (SWE) meeting this week (aka: 2-3 a night…hello, committee kick-off week), so I know I’m going to want to just be able to throw something in my bag for dinner.  Especially since we now have a microwave in the SWE office, and I don’t have to eat everything cold!

Loosely based off of a Whole Foods recipe (which is no longer on the website, or I would have linked to it), I cooked broccoli rabe, tomatoes, and garlic in some olive oil, then tossed it with a box of whole wheat pasta and a can of kidney beans, and sprinkled it with Parmesan.

IMG_2851

While I waited for it to cook, I snacked on a plum

IMG_2847I also made two HUGE batches of granola… apple-cinnamon-raisin granola bars, and chocolate-PB granola cereal (recipes to come).  They are both delicious, if I may say so myself. 🙂

The dry ingredients…

IMG_2852The final product is still cooling… pictures will be up once it is cut into bars!

My afternoon snack, naturally, included some of the granola.  I mixed red and yellow raspberries with some skim milk and the chocolate granola.  Yummy!

IMG_2856

We’re also using the granola (not the one with chocolate, of course) to bribe Dan’s birds into being nice to me.  He has two cockatiels, and one of them, Mario, tries to bite anyone who comes near him, other than Dan.  Clearly, this arrangement doesn’t work when Dan is out of town and I’m taking care of the birds… however, Mario’s favorite treat is oats.  We’re hoping if I give him a little granola each day, he’ll learn to like me.  Or at least not bite me…

Any awesome granola mixes you’ve tried?  I like to mix up my flavors each time I make them!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

The fabulous-ness that is the Taste of Madison The SWE family

2 Comments



Archives

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

