Weekend Plans

October 23, 2009 at 10:23 am 5 comments

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter!

So Much Pumpkin!

After making pumpkin scones yesterday, I have a ton of leftover pumpkin puree to use up.  Tragic, I know.  ;)

With that in mind, I decided to start the day with some Pumpkin Breakfast Quinoa:

IMG_3513I replaced a bit of the milk and water with about a tablespoon of pumpkin puree, and topped with a tablespoon of chocolate chips.  If you still haven’t tried quinoa for breakfast, go try it soon!  To learn how to make it, go here.

And expect a post soon about why quinoa is my favorite grain. :)

To get some fruit in, I paired my quinoa with a peach:

IMG_3512

Readers be warned: a lot more pumpkin will be showing up on the blog in the next few days.  Who am I kidding?  Pumpkin always shows up on the blog.  But now I have a lot of it that needs to be used up soon!

Lesson Learned

I learned a very important lesson after my long run last night:  You will be tired after a long run.  This is no excuse to not fully stretch afterwards.  If you don’t stretch, you will be in a lot of pain a few hours later.  Now my lower back hurts.  A lot.  Today is definitely a rest day!

Here’s hoping my back feels better by Sunday morning for my 15K!

Weekend Plans

I’m pretty pumped about this weekend.  Want to know what’s on the agenda?

Friday evening:  SWE Fall Ball. Kelley, Jenny, Wendy and I are going to be the security/registration people/DDs (designated drivers) all night, which I’m actually kind of excited about.  It means we get to see everyone who comes to the dance and talk to everyone.  It doesn’t hurt that the location this year is awesome:  the beautiful theatre on State Street.  Which, by the way, just happens to be attached to the museum where our wedding is going to be!

Saturday morning:  Farmer’s Market. I haven’t gone in 2 weeks, due to being in California.  I miss it!

Saturday afternoon: Madison Food & Wine Show. Hopefully.  :)

Sunday morning:  My first 15K!

Sunday afternoon/evening: Cooking party! Several of my friends have been asking me to teach them to cook, so we’re getting together on Sunday to make some simple, healthy dishes!

What are your plans for the weekend?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

A New PDR! Off We Go!

5 Comments

  • 1. Jessica  |  October 23, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Your weekend sounds like a blast! Mine is fairly boring. Lots of relaxing going in. Just how I like it!

  • 2. Julie @savvyeats  |  October 23, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    This weekend will be loads of fun, but I need more relaxing weekends! :)

  • 3. Mellissa  |  October 23, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    That is what my normal weekends look like, but this weekend we only have plans on Saturday night and I am so excited.

    We are out of town every weekend in November!

  • 4. Lindsey @ Sound Eats  |  October 23, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Congrats on your PDR in your last post! And wow, what an exciting weekend you have. :)

    Quinoa is my favorite grain too, it’s practically perfect!

  • 5. heather  |  October 25, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    I haven’t tried it yet: I’m looking forward to hearing why quinoa is your favorite grain.



Archives

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Follow Me on Twitter

Subscribe to Savvy Eats by Email

Subscribe in a reader

Project Feed Me

Feed Me Button Thumb Nail

Enter to Win!

Make a Proclamation and be entered to win $5,000 to pursue your dream! Enter daily and bring friends to increase your chances of winning. There are weekly prizes too. No purchase necessary.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

